Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 6 cylinder falcon retrofit

  1. #1

    6 cylinder falcon retrofit

    Hi
    I own a 1982 Ford Bronco fitted with the 6 cylinder falcon engine of the time. XD or XE age I believe.
    I have a Falcon XR6 FG model wreck in my yard with the engine still in it.
    I was wondering if anyone knew anything about retrofitting this.
    Im hoping it will couple up with my existing components on the Bronco.
    Also, I need to find a way to run the ECU just on its own.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Admin flappist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sunny QLD
    Posts
    6,346
    Quote Originally Posted by jordandragon View Post
    Hi
    I own a 1982 Ford Bronco fitted with the 6 cylinder falcon engine of the time. XD or XE age I believe.
    I have a Falcon XR6 FG model wreck in my yard with the engine still in it.
    I was wondering if anyone knew anything about retrofitting this.
    Im hoping it will couple up with my existing components on the Bronco.
    Also, I need to find a way to run the ECU just on its own.
    Thanks
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

    This is actually a HUGE job as the new engines require quite a bit of computer support and you cannot use the one from the FG as it will have a hissy fit when it can't see all the other FG systems.
    The DIVCT FG engine is quite complex and will not work with the "supacheap specials".
    If you want to go to a 4l you would be much better off with an INTEC from a EB/ED as they are simpler and there are lots of cheap simple aftermarket computers available to run them.

    But that is only a small part of the problem.

    The sump will be completely wrong and you will have to make one from scratch.
    All the cooling systems will be wrong as well as the exhaust.
    Then the transmission will not fit so you will need an adapter. These are available but are not cheap.

    All in all it is a huge project.

    In saying that, projects can be fun and if you do not care how long it takes or how much it costs (i.e. you are not just trying to save money by using your wreck) then there are a lot of people about who have done things like this and can give you ideas.
    A velocitatem terram

    Google-Fu, the ancient snowflake art of knowing little, understanding less but believing anything they find on Google as the word of God.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to flappist For This Useful Post:

    Perko (11th September 2014)

  4. #3
    Validated User VZTRT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4,758
    To run the engine with ecu your still gonna need the BCM and key barrel due to the security feature on the car. So unless Ford are willing to remove it (fairly sure it can be done) your not gonna get far. To run the BCM your going to need the dash loom in the car. Another thing is the comms that go throughout the car will be needed so the HIM off the heater box is required or the comms will drop out. I believe the cluster runs the terminating resistors for the comms so that would also be required and if its an auto then the trans loom is needed or it will drop the comms out as well.

    You also may need the drivers side body loom. I say may because I figure you won't be running the ICC and I think you can get away from it. So the looms from the dash onwards would get you there.

    Other idea might be run a carby through the I6 motor (82 model so you might be able to get away with emissions) or get an aftermarket ECU.

  5. #4
    Sir Car Reviews Franco Cozzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Country Victoria
    Posts
    4,387
    Keep us informed if you do go ahead, as this sounds like a good project to follow

  6. #5
    Jacob
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    St Mary's Sydney
    Posts
    194
    Not sure where you are, but some tuners can do these conversions with all the wiring for about $5k. You can use an SCT device to disable alot of the security features I believe and I'd the FG sump doesn't fit you might find a B series dump does before needing to look at a custom. If you don't use a late model PCM you might have to use locked cam gears, Atomic sell these for conversions and might be able to give some pointers.
    Silk BF2 XT
    13.985@100.09MPH
    175.9rwkw CHE Dyno Day

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to FPV GTHO For This Useful Post:

    Lynton (12th September 2014)

  8. #6
    James. defective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    3,289
    These days the electronics are largely cracked and not the big hassle they used to be. I'd be tempted to pull that motor out and see if it bolts up to the original bell housing, you may be surprised.

    People are dropping barras into almost anything these days, the project vehicle is almost irrelevant.
    Things like exhausts, cooling systems always need to be altered in engine conversions, and not really rocket science.


    This is a project link on boosted falcon for a guy that dropped a b series barra into his xh ute, very easy, surprisingly inexpensive.

    http://www.boostedfalcon.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=28497

    It's just not as hard as it used to be.
    Quote Originally Posted by Falc'man View Post
    In the words of a wise man: if you don't read the papers you're uninformed, if you do read the papers you're misinformed.

  9. #7
    With the current engine in my vehicle being a falcon engine, I cant see why the trans wont bolt on. My guess is the old sump will work too.
    The first thing to do would be to pull both out and see if the new couples up with my gearbox.
    I'm fairly certain we can get around the computer part.

    Ill post later on when I make the first move!

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to jordandragon For This Useful Post:

    VZTRT (17th September 2014)

  11. #8
    Jacob
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    St Mary's Sydney
    Posts
    194
    The alloy sumps from AU onwards act as a stressed member on the engine and bolt into the main caps, so that will need to be considered if you try and swap the current sump over.
    Silk BF2 XT
    13.985@100.09MPH
    175.9rwkw CHE Dyno Day

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to FPV GTHO For This Useful Post:

    jordandragon (17th September 2014)

  13. #9
    James. defective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    3,289
    If it's the same as putting post au engines into a pre au falcon then often the sump just needs minor mods to fit.

    Dunno how different a bronco is though.
    Quote Originally Posted by Falc'man View Post
    In the words of a wise man: if you don't read the papers you're uninformed, if you do read the papers you're misinformed.

  14. #10
    Sir Car Reviews Franco Cozzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Country Victoria
    Posts
    4,387
    Wouldn't have space constraints I guess, they can fit a Cummins 6BT in the damn things which is a 500kg+ engine and close to 1m tall, this was my 6BT I had:



    If that son of a bitch fits in there an FG I6 would no worries, the electrical side of things would be the most difficult part for sure, he has a parts car though so it might be easier to swap all the looms and bare essential modules over and as FPV GTHO said disable the security features.

    IIRC don't they need the cluster to run?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •