Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RTV and sand

RTV and sand

Hey,

Just a question, has anyone ever been in or seen an RTV on the beach? For example Fraser Island.

Just curious of its capabilities.

Validated User
    Quote Originally Posted by pacificfordqld View Post
    Hey,

Just a question, has anyone ever been in or seen an RTV on the beach? For example Fraser Island.

Just curious of its capabilities.
    From what I know about them, they would be no good for beach work. They are more of a dirt road / farm capable vehicle, then a beach rig.
    2017 FORD PXII WILDTRAK 4X4
    2016 FORD FGX XR6 SPRINT LE TURBO 325
    2016 FORD LZ FOCUS SPORT
    2017 SEADOO RXT300RS JETSKI

I reckon your about spot on Dash.
    I'm no expert but having done some beach driving nowadays similar to Fraser etc I wouldn't be risking going with a 2wd vehicle at all.
    One minute you can be on low tide hard sand next minute you can be on soft like quick sand for a time - nothing like having all 4 wheels pulling through.
    YNWA ! off to CL 2018.
    Sydney is Sky Blue HAL Premiers/Champions 2017 - the Double.

Well actually they are now illegal on Fraser (thanks ALP) but over the years I have seen dozens of Falcons and Kingswoods on the beach and some even on the less difficult inland tracks. This was before all the wooden crossings and one way roads.
    I also know of quite a few people who drop back to 2WD on the back beach "to save fuel" and sometimes forget to go back to 4WD when leaving the beach for the shops, resorts and camping areas.

So basically an RTV would go alright provided you did not try to do anything silly but the barges will not take you over there.
    A velocitatem terram

Google-Fu, the ancient snowflake art of knowing little, understanding less but believing anything they find on Google as the word of God.

Thanks guys!

I wouldn't trust having no high/low myself, just in case.