Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Battery thread

Battery thread

Following on from the discussion in the ON thread.

There is a lot of hype and bullshit in the whole "renewable energy" arena.
    One of my projects some time ago was to build a viable battery system to keep my servers and network up during outages as we had a few that were several hours long.
    My background is electrical engineering and I used to work in the supply industry so I started researching current (pun intended) technologies to see what I could use.

I have a pile of LiPo (Lithium Polymer) batteries I used for various purposes but while they are light and can supply significant current and are quite happy cycling quickly they are pricks of things in that they need to be constantly maintained and will burst into flame if they get angry.

On the the other hand AGM (glass mat) are easy going low maintenance but are cycle limited so if discharged every day will not last for extended periods.

Basically building a battery system is like designing a car. You can have a bazillion horse power but it breaks a lot or it can be toyota reliable but basically useless in any but the most banal of environments.
    Unfortunately the solar/battery industry is a lot like maccas car park mechanics. No idea but it sounds good and google/forums back them up.

If you want to save some dollars are make yourself a bit more independent I can help you with the numbers and tell you if you are being ripped off.

The main trick is to make sure that all the parts are the right capacity for your application.
    Too small and it will fail, too big and it will choke as will your bank account.

So if anyone is interested, give me your requirements and I will point you in the right direction.

Requirements:
    1) average and maximum loads in Watts and VA/VAR if reactive (see point 2).
    2) power factor (do you have motors etc.and if you do not understand then just list the gadgets)
    3) minimum duration required